Change Text Size:  Normal Text Medium Text Large Text
California Department of Education A logo depicting elements of public education. A globe, a student at school, a computer lab, and a  school bus

Reimbursement Ceilings for Subsidized Child Care

The Budget Act of 2014, Chapter 25, which was signed into law on June 20, 2014, maintains the current Regional Market Rate ceilings at the 85th percentile of the 2005 Regional Market Rate Survey and the licensed-exempt child care provider ceilings at 60 percent of the Family Child Care Home ceilings through December 31, 2014.

Assembly Trailer Bill 1476 (Chapter 663 of the Statutes of 2014), beginning January 1, 2015, requires the California Department of Education to implement ceilings at the 85th percentile of the 2009 Regional Market Rate Survey reduced by 10.11 percent. If a calculated ceiling is less than the ceiling provided before January 1, 2015, then the ceiling from the 2005 Regional Market Survey will be used. The licensed-exempt child care provider ceilings will be 60 percent of the Family Child Care Home ceilings.

These new ceilings will be available to the public January 1, 2015.

Choose the county where child care is provided.  If child care is provided outside of California, choose the county of the child's residence.

For Child Care Centers Only

For a five-year old child enrolled in kindergarten:
  • Use the 2 through 5 Years category when the child is in a program/classroom that is licensed as a preschool program, or
  • Use the School Age category when the child is in a program/classroom that is licensed as a school-age program.

Questions:   Elena Fong | efong@cde.ca.gov | 916-324-6560

California Department of Education
1430 N Street
Sacramento, CA 95814

Web Policy