About the ELPAC


The English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) is the successor to the California English Language Development Test (CELDT). Beginning in 2017–18, the Summative ELPAC is the required state test for English language proficiency (ELP) that must be given to all eligible English learners (ELs) enrolled during the testing window of February 1 through May 31 annually until they reclassify. The CDE expects to fully transition from the CELDT to the ELPAC when the Initial ELPAC begins July 1, 2018. The Initial ELPAC must be given to students whose primary language is a language other than English.

State and federal law require that districts administer a state test of ELP to eligible students in kindergarten (including "transitional kindergarten") through grade twelve. The ELPAC is aligned with California's 2012 English Language Development Standards, and is comprised of two separate ELP assessments:

  • Initial ELPAC—an initial identification of students as English learners or initial fluent English proficient (IFEP)
  • Summative ELPAC—an annual assessment to measure an English learner's progress in learning English and to identify the student's ELP level

ELPAC Reporting Student Groups

Reports are available for the Initial and Summative ELPAC at the state, county, district, and school levels for "All Students" and disaggregated for student groups on the basis of the following criteria:

  • All Students
  • Gender
    • Female
    • Male
  • Primary Language
    • Spanish
    • Vietnamese
    • Mandarin (Putonghua)
    • Arabic
    • Filipino (Pilipino or Tagalog)
    • Cantonese
    • Korean
    • Hmong
    • Punjabi
    • Russian
    • All remaining languages
  • Migrant
    • Migrant education
  • Disability Status
    • Students not receiving special education services
    • Students receiving special education services
    • Students receiving special education services tested with alternate assessment for any or all domains
  • Economic Status
    • Economically disadvantaged
    • Not economically disadvantaged
  • Race and Ethnicity
    • Black or African American
    • American Indian or Alaska Native
    • Asian
    • Filipino
    • Hispanic or Latino
    • Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander
    • White
    • Two or more races
  • English Learners
    • English learners enrolled in school in the U.S. fewer than 12 months
    • English learners enrolled in school in the U.S. 12 months or more
    • All English learners